About Me

My photo
Cool student . practical person luv 2 make friends ... I graduated BE in Electronics& Instrumentation . . Actually im an entertainment adict love to watch more movies again and again also love to hear songs .

Tuesday, April 8, 2014

Top 5 badminton players in india

5. Aparna Popat

She is a former Indian Badminton player who is a senior National Champion and has a world record of nine times between 1997 and 2006. She is a winner two commonwealth games, one Silver medal in 1998 at Kuala Lumpur and another Bronze medal in 2002 at Manchester. She has won Silver medal in 1996 Silkeborg for World Junior Championships. Aparna Popat departed the game in 2006 after giving 17 years to this profession because of her wrist injury. She pulled herself out of the game as the number one player in India and making our proud.
Aparna Popat

4. Chetan Anand

Chetan Anand Buradagunta is a four time National Badminton Champion in the year 2004, 2007, 2008 and 2010. He has tremendous success in badminton which made him win the most eminent Indian Arjuna Award. He has been one of the very consistent and diligent player who brought laurels to India.
Chetan Anand

3. Saina Nehwal

Saina is a new face of badminton and ever since she joined the ground she made only success stories. She attained the world ranking of 2 in December 2010. The list is long of her distinctly brilliant graph. She was the first Indian to win a Bronze medal in badminton for Olympics in 2012 held in London. She is the first Indian to win a Gold medal in World Junior Championships in 2008 held in Pune as well as the first Indian to win a Super Series Tournament on 21st June 2009. Saina is truly an iconic and one of the most inspirational badminton player that India has ever produced with 8 as her current world ranking in 2014 January. She also has in her bag the most prestigious awards as Arjuna Award in 2009, Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award in 2010 and Padma Shri in 2010 respectively.
Saina Nehwal

2. Pullela Gopichand

Gopichand is a former legendary player of badminton after Prakash Padukone. He has won a Gold medal for All England Championship held in Birmingham in 2001. And he has also been a Bronze medal holder at Commonwealth Games in 1998 at Kuala Lumpur. His world ranking was 5 in 2001. Gopichand has been awarded with India’s most designated awards as Arjuna Award in 1999, Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award in 2001, Padma Shri in 2005, Dronacharya Award in 2009 and Padma Bhushan in 2014 for the outstanding contribution in badminton.
Pullela Gopichand

1. Prakash Padukone

Prakash is a recipient of Padam Shri in 1982. His father persuaded him to be in this game and as we all know the rest is history. His first international achievement was for Commonwealth Games in 1978 at Canada where he won a Gold Medal. Prakash was the first Indian to win a Gold medal for the All England Championships in 1980 at London. And in 1981 he won a Gold medal for World Cup held at Kuala Lumpur. Later in 1983 he won a Bronze medal for World Championships held at Copenhagen. Prakash Padukone has also won a National title for 7 years. There is a biography as ‘Touch Play’ by Dev S Sukumar which is the second biography of any badminton player till yet.
Prakash Padukone

No comments:

Post a Comment